Day 21 of 31 Days in August, “It’s Only a Transfer”

Day 21 of 31 Days in August, “It’s Only a Transfer”
The Final Hours Collection of the PTSD Poetry Project 2016

Day 1 of 22

The upcoming month of September is National Suicide Awareness Month http://www.nami.org/Get-Involved/Awareness-Events/Suicide-Prevention-Awareness-Month

The significance of 22 is the average number of veterans who die by suicide each day

Please visit Honor Courage Commitment, inc’s page https://www.22kill.com/team-22kill/ to learn about the mission and how they are bringing awareness by using the hashtag #22kill and their 22 push-up challenge.


***This Collection’s poems’s subject is suicide and can be triggering to read. Please practice CAUTION BEFORE READING***



“It’s Only a Transfer”


We walked into the hospital

My partner and I

We went to the elevators

Pressed buttons

To get to the ICU floor

It’s only a transfer

They’d said

“Only”

A suicide attempt

On a woman’s part

Everyone in the department

Expressed annoyance

“It’s her 3rd time being here”

The nurse said to me

With disgust on his face

I walked into the space

Where she turned to look at me

I saw the saddest well dressed woman

I’d ever met

She tried to keep a jovial face

Until we got into the back of the ambulance

The heavy doors shut hard

Sealing in privacy at last

She held my hand

Told me her story

I looked into her eyes

Gave all of my attention

See? I wanted to know

What they did not know

I wanted to hear her

I wanted to ‘see’ her

This was her third time

I feared her next?

Would be her last

So I listened

And I understood

She only wanted to be seen

This well dressed woman

Veiled in sadness, veiled in grief

For she had lost someone

And no one had acknowledged her grief

No one cared about her loss

From a war no one gave notice to

The only gift I had was to listen

Until we got to our destination

Until she hugged me good bye

I prayed it was not her last

Before her final hour.


***

Leave a Reply

