Day 20 of 31 Days of August, “Show of Blood”

Day 20 of 31 Days in August
The Chronic Illness Collection of the PTSD Poetry Project 2016


“Show of Blood”

The blood always tells the truth

This I know to be true

In the face of so much speculation

The blood told the truth

Blood always tells the hidden truths

Of what no one wants to believe

There is no theory

When it comes to blood

Each week

Each hour

Each day

New information confirms

What blood always knew

Blood tells the truth

It’s merely waiting for us to find it’s truths

Twenty years ago

Blood held so many mysteries

Now these are common knowledge

Yet the mystery is deeper than originally thought

What now means nothing

Will mean something in all our tomorrow’s

My day began with a show of blood

The dark red trickle

Crossing my upper lip

I stared at the tissue in my hand

Marveled inside at all the information

Held within this show of blood

My body rears its head

With this show of blood

To remind me

More information still waits to be discovered

Until the mystery is uncovered

There will always be this

Show of blood

And blood…

Holds all the secrets

They merely wait for us to find them

***

August 20, 2016 

Personal journal

    Epistaxis. Basically I woke up with a nosebleed. Since the brain injury this is never a good sign. I am not even certain anymore why it is, but it is also related to the severe malnutrition issues. Eventually it eased off, many tissues later each tinged with blood until it was clear. I can’t remember the last time I had a nosebleed and it’s not documented in my notes in the past year and half. Before that time, yes, often and spontaneously.

      It’s an unsettling thing to have had sharp pain in a certain spot of my head for an entire day then wake up with this nosebleed. Even when it’s mentioned at an appointment it treated, at least by the GP, as random and not worthy of any concern. Sometimes it seems as if there is only ‘cause for concern’ if they are dramatic, obviously related issues. Like the heart issue which required immediate EMS response. Now there is no question with this issue.

      I know in about half an hour? The concern will be gone. This is without doubt the brain injury’s doing. Even as I write, even as I blow my nose and see blood again, the concern has slipped away. Maybe the whole world is like this. Maybe it’s a momentary concern then just leaves? Deep inside my mind I don’t believe this to be true.

        Time slips away most days, a blessing as some days can seem very long. Even the days where I have plans, work to do, like today, all the time allotted slips away so quickly. But in spite of this I can manage my time, get things done and get back home for my afternoon time to rest and recover from pushing myself.

      So much to do …and today’s beginning is heralded by the show of blood by epistaxis.

 

Leave a Reply

