Day 19 of 30 Days In June, “3am Panic, Sweating”

Day 19 of 30 Days in June, PTSD Poetry Project

Poetry created from the past decade of public,private blogs, journals regarding life with PTSD, Traumatic Brain Injury, and Multiple Sclerosis.


“3am panic, sweating”

The nightmare wakes me

I am shaken

Drenched in sweat

I cannot breathe

Why can’t I escape these nightmares?

Sleep eludes me

I’d showered before bed

Water beating against my face

I had stood there for a long time

Water sliding down my back

Maybe the water against my face

Was the trigger for the nightmare

I feel this will never be over

Words to myself tell me

This will improve

It will get better

I lie in bed

Drenched in sweat

I cannot breathe

Those words feel like lies in my mind
It seems more truthful to say

This will never get better

******

USFRA.com PTSD blog post Bree N. on February 18, 2014 at 4:35am

“3am panic, sweating..”

I woke up from a nightmare so shaken, panic sweat drenched and felt like I couldn’t breathe. I don’t know what set it off,its going to be awhile before sleep happens again tonight,if it does.maybe it was a show I watched, maybe it was the water against my face in the shower. I just don’t know. This, this is when I feel like it will never be over. I keep telling myself, it WILL get better,it has to. But all those words feel like lies right now.

Leave a Reply

