Day 4 of 30 Days in June: PTSD Poetry Project: “Fighting the Fight in the Night”

(Also avaiable as an Anchor reading by Now_Bree)

I wait breathless

I wait tears streaming down my face

I wait as sobs begin to fill my chest

Alone in the darkness

I am afraid tonight

I am not ready to fight this fight again

I am so ashamed of these feelings

They fill me, consume me with their intensity

I wait, holding them off through the night

I wait until the light of day will break

I wait holding my breath

Day light streams around the curtains

I can finally breathe

I can take a deep breath

I can finally let go of the fight against the night

I can finally

Just

sleep

Leave a Reply

